THE Legislative Assembly of Tonga today elected Tongatapu 1 MP, ‘Akilisi Pohiva as the new Prime Minister of Tonga.

15 parliamentarians voted in favour of Mr. Pohiva while 11 voted for Vava’u 16 MP, Samiu Kuita Vaipulu.

Pohiva is the first commoner to become Tonga’s PM under the new political reform that was implemented in 2010.

The House also elects Tongatapu number 3 Noble Representative, Lord Tu’ivakano as the new Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

Lord Tu’ivakano won the hearts of 15 MPs while 11 voted for Lord Tu’i’afitu and he became his Deputy.

Meanwhile the House is scheduled to reconvene on January 20 that is within six weeks after the return of election writs to the King.

The new PM and the rest of MPs will take their oath before the Legislative Assembly.


Go to top