Latest News In English

Semisi Sika (on the right, Chair of the Standing Committee on Environment & Climate Change) and other MPs during the Annual Briefing Session, March 3rd, 2014
Mr. Leveni ''Aho, Director of NEMO, presents to the Members of Parliament, on the emergency response of NEMO to TC Ian. Featured also is Lord Fakafanua (Speaker of the House) who is also a member of the Standing Committee).
Hon. Fe'aomoeata Vakata (far right) a member of the Standing Committee on Environment & Climate Change, at the Annual Briefing Session
Lord Vaea (far left, member of the Standing Committee on Environment & Climate Change) at the Annual Briefing Session
Mrs. Lu'isa Tu'i'afitu Malolo, Deputy Director for Climate Change, presents to MPs on Climate Change in Tonga

The parliamentary outreach programme for primary and secondary schools in Ha’apai and Vava’u concludes today. The Parliamentary Education Team visited Vava’u High School this morning to hold an informative discussion with teachers and students on the roles and functions of Parliament.

FORMER People’s Representative of Tongatapu 5 constituency has been appointed as the new Minister for Finance and National Planning effective from last Friday, 10 January 2014.

Reports from the Prime Minister’s Office, Dr. ‘Aisake Eke was appointed to the new post last week.

Dr. ‘Aisake Ake replaces former Finance and National Planning Minister, Lisiate ‘Akolo who was forced to resign earlier this year, over the Cabinet’s proposed 5 percent COLA or (Cost Of Living Allowance).

Asked for his opinion on the new job, Dr. Eke says there is nothing new as he had served in the Ministry of Finance for over 20 years before becoming a People’s Representative for Tongatapu 5,” explained Dr. Eke.

TONGATAPU 1 MP has been awarded the 2013 Defender of Democracy awards of the Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA) in Columbia.

PGA news reports the awards ceremony was awarded by Bogota’s Mayor, Gustavo Petro to the Tongan MP on Sunday (December 8, 2013) at the Salón Huitaka, City Hall in Bogota Colombia.

PGA presented the 2013 Defender of Democracy Awards to Mr. Samuela 'Akilisi Pohiva, MP of Tonga and Dr. Noor Jehan Panezai and Hon. Naveed Qamar, MP on behalf of The PGA Pakistan National Group.

The occasion was held in conjunction with PGA’s 35th Annual Parliamentary Forum.

According to PGA’s Forum website “the Defender of Democracy Award is presented to individuals who, through their own commitment and active engagement, have made significant progress in strengthening democracy and democratic practices.

TWO MPs of the Legislative Assembly of Tonga will be amongst over 80 international parliamentarians that will discuss the future of global development agenda at the Houses of Parliament, London from November 26-28th.

Go to top