FIVE candidates have registered to stand in the Tongatapu 10 constituency by-election next month.

The Electoral Commission has confirmed that candidates for the upcoming by-election on Thursday 13 July 2023 are

1. Matani Nifofā, Kolonga

2. Senimili Tu’i’onetoa Fonua, Makaunga

3. Daniel Kimball Fale, Lapaha

4. Kapelieli Militoni Lanumata, Lapaha

5. Dr. Fotu Kuohiko Valeli Fisi’iahi, Niutoua

Tongatapu 10 constituency seat in Parliament remains vacant and the by-election is to elect a new People Representative for the people of Tonga 10 constituency following the passing of their former MP, late Dr. Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa in March this year.

The registration opens to the public on Tuesday and Wednesday June 6 & 7 from 10am – 3:00pm yesterday.

The Speaker of Parliament, Lord Fakafanua last month issued a writ of election to the Electoral Commission for the election of a new People Representative for Tongatapu 10 electorate.

This followed a consultation between the Lord Speaker of Parliament and Chairman of the Electoral Commission Rt. Hon. Lord Dalgety KC – as required in the Legislative Assembly Act.


Go to top