MORE than 4600 registered voters of Tongatapu 10 constituency goes to the poll in 18 polling stations today in a by-election to elect their new People Representative to Parliament.

The by-election got underway in 18 polling stations throughout the kingdom and closed at 4:00pm.

It is to recruit a new Member of Parliament for Tongatapu 10 constituency following the death of their former parliamentarian Hon. Dr. Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa, the former Prime Minister in March this year.

Five contestants are vying for Tongatapu 10 vacant seat in Parliament and they are

1.      Matani Nifofā, Kolonga

2.      Senimili Tu’i’onetoa Fonua, Makaunga

3.      Daniel Kimball Fale, Lapaha

4.      Kapelieli Militoni Lanumata, Lapaha

5.      Dr. Fotu Kuohiko Valeli Fisi’iahi, Niutoua

The by-election results will be announced later this evening.

Go to top